OutWrite Chapbook Competition

OutWrite holds an annual chapbook competition, in partnership with D.C.-based small press Neon Hemlock Press, which publishes the winning chapbooks. See the winners below.


Our 2022 chapbook winners will be published by Neon Hemlock Press in December. Pre-order the 2022 winning chapbooks.

Fiction: The End, as Seen from the Tip of the Indian Peninsula by M.L. Krishnan
judged by Brent Lambert

Nonfiction: A Study in Our Selves by Max Pasakorn
judged by Joseph Osmundson

Poetry: Shakespeares in the Ghetto by Kanyinsola Olorunnisola
judged by Saida Agostini


Purchase the 2021 winning chapbooks.

winners of our OutWrite 2021 chapbook competition
The winners of our 2021 OutWrite chapbook competition. From left to right: Hannah Soyer, Jason B. Crawford, and Mari Ness.

Fiction: Dancing in the Silver Lands by Mari Ness
judged by Darcie Little Badger

Nonfiction: For When the Shapes Keep Changing by Hannah Soyer
judged by Chris Gonzalez

Poetry: Good Boi by Jason B. Crawford
judged by Dena Rod








See the 2021 chapbook winners read below:


OutWrite 2020 chapbook competition winners published by Neon Hemlock Press

Fiction: When We’re Done Here by Paula Molina Acosta
judged by Rivers Solomon

Nonfiction: Cross Cutting by Charles Jensen
judged by Tyrese Coleman

Poetry: Strange Furniture by Lannie Stabile
judged by Faylita Hicks








OutWrite 2019 chapbook competition winners published by Neon Hemlock Press
Fiction: The West & Everything Above by Brendan Williams-Childs
judged by JY Yang

Nonfiction: Heretic to Housewife by Rahne Alexander
judged by Kristen Arnett

Poetry: boy if by Carlito Espudo
judged by Wo Chan Fiction